Movers & Shakers

Movers & Shakers

California: New Safety Manager at East Bay MUDCalifornia: New Safety Manager at East Bay MUD

Oakland, California – Ralph G. Sbragia, CSP, has been appointed Manager of Workplace Health and Safety for the East Bay Municipal Utilities District, commonly known as East Bay MUD. Sbragia has more than 30 years of experience in occupational safety and health, the last 22 at the Los Angeles County Metropolitan Transportation Authority, where he focused on safety and health compliance for the authority’s capital improvement, and major heavy, civil and rail expansion programs. Sbragia replaces David Woodard, CSP, who EBMUD recently promoted to manager of regulatory compliance. Source: Cal-OSHA Reporter

Raffo Appointed Chairman, OSHA Maritime Advisory CommitteeRaffo Appointed Chairman, OSHA Maritime Advisory Committee

Stonington, Connecticut – Donald Raffo has been appointed chairman of the Occupational Safety and Health Administration’s Maritime Advisory Committee on Occupational Safety and Health by U.S. Secretary of Labor Alexander Acosta. The committee advises Fed-OSHA on matters relevant to the safety and health of employees in the maritime industry, with the aim of improving enforcement, training, outreach programs, and regulations. Raffo works as a marine chemist at General Dynamics-Electric Boat in Groton, Connecticut. He is is past chairman of the Marine Chemist Association and currently oversees training for the association. He serves on the National Fire Protection Association technical committees for the control of gas hazards on vessels and fire protection for vessels during construction, conversion, repair and layup. Source: Westerly Sun/Maritime Logistics Professional

National Safety Council Appoints Lorraine M. Martin President and CEO

National Safety Council Appoints Lorraine M. Martin President and CEO

Itasca, Illinois – The National Safety Council is pleased to announce the appointment of Lorraine M. Martin as president and CEO of the 107-year-old nonprofit organization. Martin, co-founder and current president of the nonprofit Pegasus Springs Foundation, will be joining NSC June 3 at its headquarters in Itasca, Illinois. Previously, she was executive vice president and deputy of Rotary and Mission Systems at Lockheed Martin. Over her career, Martin has led global aircraft and complex system development and manufacturing. Among her top achievements, she led the largest defense program, F-35 Lightning II, a stealth fighter aircraft. She also spearheaded the successful operational and cultural integration of Sikorsky. Martin was an officer in the U.S. Air Force, where she held various leadership positions for software-intensive technology and development programs. Source: PRNewswire

Hawaii: Scott Murakami and Leonard Hoshijo Confirmed as Director and Deputy of Labor Department Hawaii: Scott Murakami and Leonard Hoshijo Confirmed as Director and Deputy of Labor DepartmentHawaii: Scott Murakami and Leonard Hoshijo Confirmed as Director and Deputy of Labor Department

Honolulu, Hawaii – The Hawaii State Senate recently confirmed Scott T. Murakami and Leonard Hoshijo as the Director and Deputy Director of the Hawaii State Department of Labor and Industrial Relations. Scott Murakami is the 20th Director of Labor and Industrial Relations. Murakami joins the Ige administration from the University of Hawaii where he has held a variety of leadership positions. Most recently, he was the Director of Workforce Development in the Office of the Vice President for Community Colleges and before that the Director of the Pacific Center for Advanced Technology Training at Honolulu Community College. Murakami holds a bachelor’s degree in political science and sociology, and master’s degrees in business administration and accounting from the University of Hawaii at Manoa. Hoshijo has been at the DLIR as Director and Deputy Director since 2015. Before joining the DLIR, he served in various roles with the International Longshore and Warehouse Union and the Hawaii Regional Council of Carpenters. Source: State of Hawaii Department of Labor and Industrial Relations

Kansas: Delía García Confirmed as Labor Secretary

Topeka, Kansas – Delía García’s appointment as Kansas Secretary of Labor was recently confirmed by the Kansas Senate. García will oversee the state unemployment insurance, workers’ compensation, labor market information services and industrial safety and health divisions. Garcia served six years in the Kansas House of Representatives and eight years in Washington, D.C. Source: KSNT

Pennsylvania: Fisher Phillips Adds LateralsPennsylvania: Fisher Phillips Adds Laterals

Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania – Fisher Phillips has hired six new attorneys from law firm Jackson Kelly to open a new office in Pittsburgh and further ramp up capabilities in its Denver location. R. Henry “Hank” Moore, Arthur M. Wolfson, and Patrick W. Dennison, all partners, will be opening up the Pittsburgh office. This will be Fisher Phillips’ second outpost in Pennsylvania. Two partners, Kristin R.B. White and Christopher G. Peterson, will join Fisher Phillips at its office in Denver, along with associate Benjamin J. Ross. The new hires’ focus on workplace and mine safety will help build out the national labor and employment firm’s Workplace Safety and Catastrophe Management practice group. Source: Bloomberg Law Big Law Business